Quiet Riot - 'One Night In Milan'

(Frontiers Records)

‘One Night In Milan’ explodes with a boisterous performance of ‘Run For Cover’ which really sets the scene for what is to come, high energy fist pumping rock and roll! I have seen Quiet Riot recently and was really pleased to tick them off my bucket list alongside a great performance. The sound that night was a bit pants though, so getting a clearer sound here on this live package gives me even more appreciation for a grossly underrated band, whose antics and non-music history tends to overshadow what great music Frankie Banali and company have created. As we have come to expect from Frontiers live packages, the sound mix is done to a really high standard making it really enjoyable.

Obviously if you clean it up too much you lose some of that ‘live’ vibe, but this Quiet Riot one is done spot on and really captures the live atmosphere and delivery of the night.

It’s a good old-fashioned rock and roll show, Quiet Riot were born at the time of stadium rock and big shows and bigger performances and that’s exactly what they deliver in this performance. Larger than life escapism where crowd participation is expected and received!

It’s a great set list with no low points but a highlight for me is the anthemic melodic beauty ‘Wild and the Young’ which comes across live amazingly. Obviously, their covers of Black Country legends Slade’s ‘Mama Weere All Crazee Now’ and ‘Cum on feel the Noize’ are crowd pleasers and also show the band at their finest in the live arena. Frankie Banali introducing ‘Thunderbird’ with some history and remembrance is a nice touch that adds to the live feel!

Many of the bands who are part of these Frontiers live packages probably wouldn’t release live albums or haven’t since the Eighties, so a lot of these albums are real collectibles. As a massive fan of live music, it’s so great to have live albums from the likes of Unruly Child and Tyketto in my collection and soon so will be a fantastic show from hair metal legends Quiet Riot.

Quiet Riot deliver good old party rock with a beer swigging atmosphere during a live set chock full of hair metal anthems. ‘One Night In Milan’ captures the band firing on all cylinders so fans and live music aficionados will enjoy this performance and album immensely.


Essential Track - 'Wild and the Young'

Review by Woody


  1. Run For Cover
  2. Slick Black Cadillac
  3. Mama Were All Crazee Now
  4. Whatever It Takes
  5. Terrified
  6. Love's A Bitch
  7. Condition Critical
  8. Thunderbird
  9. Party All Night
  10. Freak Flag
  11. Can't Get Enough
  12. Wild and the Young
  13. Let's Get Crazy
  14. Cum On Feel The Noize
  15. Bang Your Head