Melodic Times November – Woody’s Melodic Rock and AOR news round-up

posted 13 Nov 2017, 09:05 by Paul Woodward

Stuff by Woody

The Martie Peters Group are returning in 2018 with a new album following a ten-year absence – it doesn’t feel that long! It’s good to hear MPG are back and the working title of the album is Unfinished Business.

Soul Seller - 'Get Stronger' lyric video

Madman’s Lullaby have signed to Melodic Rock Records for the release of their new album Sins of Greed. The nine-track album will be released on November 24th. Tracks included are ‘One Shot’, ‘Little Demon’, ‘Don’t Walk Away’ and ‘About You’.

Madman's Lullaby - 'One Shot' audio video

Rage For Order - 'Abduction' music video

The Radio Sun - 'Tonight's The Night' audio video

Dante Fox - 'Firing My Heart' lyric video

The Dark Element - 'Dead To Me' lyric video

Bigfoot - 'Karma' lyric video

Eisley/Goldy - 'The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter' music video

Helloween - 'Pumpkins United' lyric video

Former Giuffria duo David Glen Eisley and Craig Goldy will release their debut album as Eisley/Goldy on December 1st via Frontiers Records. The album Blood Guts and Games will feature the tracks ‘I Don’t Belong Here Anymore’, ‘Love of the Game’, ‘Believe In One Another’ and ‘Lies I Can Live With’.

Cardiant - 'Life Has Just Begun' music video

Moritz - 'To The Moon and Back' music video

Sons of Apollo - 'Lost In Oblivion' music video

Joe Elliott’s Down ‘n’ Outz will release a live CD/DVD package via Frontiers Records. Filmed at The Corporation in Sheffield The Further Live Adventures of will be released on December 1st. At the same time the band’s two albums My Re-Generation and The Further Adventures of will be re-released via the Frontiers label. The track listing will include ‘One More Chance to Run’, ‘One Of The Boys’, ‘Who Do You Love’ and ‘Good Times’.

Guitarist Eric Bell (Thin Lizzy) will release his new solo album Standing At A Bus Stop on December 1st. Tracks included are ‘In Memory of Django’, ‘Golden Days’, ‘One Day Too Early’ and ‘Walking In The Park’.

Lion’s Pride have signed Rox Diamond for the release of their third album Let the Music Do The Talkin’ which will be released in July 2018. It will include the tracks ‘You Can Never Love Somebody Too Hard’, ‘Just Wanting You’, ‘The Way I Feel’ and ‘Lonely Without You’.

Airbound - 'Have A Good Time' lyric video

Legendary British melodic rockers Magnum will release their new album Lost on the Road to Eternity on January 19th once again via SPV/Steamhammer. The title track features a duet with Tobias Sammet and this is the first album to feature new keyboardist Rick Benton and drummer Lee Morris. The album features the tracks ‘Without Love’ – slated to be the first single, ‘Show Me Your Hands’, ‘Ya Wanna be Someone’ and ‘Forbidden Masquerade’.

The Dead Daises - 'She Always Gets Her Own Way' music video

Electric Mary - 'Woman' music video

So, want another anthology or best of or box set or collection of Saxon’s mighty back catalogue right!? Well whatever your answer to that one is prepare yourselves for a new Saxon anthology entitled Decade of The Eagle. BMG are releasing this retrospective which focuses on the band’s first nine albums released between 1979 to 1988. It features 34 tracks including ‘Wheels of Steel’, ‘Ride Like The Wind’, ‘The Eagle Has Landed’ and ‘Back on The Streets’.

Operation Mindcrime - 'Wake Me Up' audio video

Raintimes - 'Swan' audio video

Jeff Scott Soto - 'Feels Like Forever' music video

Jono - 'Crown' lyric video

Raintimes - 'Don't Ever Give Up' audio video

The Dark Element - 'The Ghost and The Reaper' music video

Frontiers Records have signed rising rockers Toseland – given the band’s connection to Toby Jepson, whose band Wayward Sons recently released their debut album via the label it’s not totally surprising the band have come up on Frontiers radar. Their third album won’t be released until Autumn 2018 but you may hear a new tune or two on their upcoming tour supporting Skid Row in March.

Down N Outz - 'Storm' live video

Sweet and Lynch - 'Walk' music video

Pink Cream 69 - 'Walls Come Down' music video

20th Century Music will be re-issuing Lion Dangerous Attraction on December 15th.

Freedom Call frontman Chris Bay will release his solo album Chasing The Sun via SPV/Steamhammer on February 23rd. Expect this release to be stylistically very different to what Freedom Call create.

Deever - 'All Come Running' lyric video