Melodic Times November - Woody's Melodic Rock and AOR News Round Up

posted 12 Nov 2015, 12:57 by Paul Woodward   [ updated 14 Dec 2015, 09:48 ]

Stuff by Woody

So Survivor are back in business, they have recruited new young vocalist Cameron Barton, who has big shoes to fill replacing Jimi Jamison who sadly passed away last year. Barton joins Survivor originals Dave Bickler and Frankie Sullivan and plans already in motion to get back on the road.

Geoff Tate’s Operation Mindcrime have announced a European tour this autumn and a couple of UK dates are trickling through including a midlands show at The River Rooms in December on the 10th December.

Nathan James classic rock band Inglorious who have been pushing themselves into our attention for a while now have officially announced been signed by Frontiers Records and will release their debut album in February. To coincide with the album release the band plan to hit the road including a date at The Robin in Bilston on 24th February.

AOR Heaven will release the new album For The Greater God from Saffire in late November. It will include the tracks ‘The Great Escape’, ‘Heartless’, ‘As Promises Burn’ and ‘Blame It On The Rain’.

If you have already checked out Major Instincts video for ‘High Five’ it’s highly likely, you’ll be looking forward to their album hitting the shelves. You don’t have long to wait as AOR heaven release their debut album Roots and Wings in late November. It will include the following songs ‘One In A Million’, ‘I Need A Drink’, ‘Don’t Come To Me’ and ‘Kicked To The Ground’.

Billy Sherwood has released an official audio video for ‘Just Galileo and me’ which is from his new concept album ‘Citizen’ which is out now on Frontiers Records.

Vanden Plas have released another official audio video to promote their forthcoming album Chronicles Of The Immortals: Netherworld II. Check out ‘The Last Fight’ here.

and another for ‘God makers Temptation’.

Melodic Rock Records will release the debut album All About Living from Amboaje in late November. Singer Toni Amboaje was featured in the Spanish version of the voice and was a founder member of Hard Spirit who some might remember from the not too distant past. For a taste of what to expect you can enjoy the video to their first single ‘Over and Over Again’ below.

UK melodic rockers Serpentine have released a brand new video for the track ‘Where Does Your Heart Beat Now?’, enjoy it below. It’s taken from their latest album Circle Of Knives which is out right now on AOR Heaven.

PJ Zitarosa will be a known name to fans of Danny Vaughn as he has played lead guitar with Danny’s solo band on his first two album’s and live dates and even deputised with Tyketto on a couple of occasions. Well PJ is back with his new band Two Thousand Feet who will release their debut album via Z Records next Spring.

Cats In Space, the pop rocking super group have released another official video to accompany their recently released debut album Too Many Gods which is out now on Cargo/Harmony Factory records. Check out ‘Last Man Standing’ here.

Find Me the AOR project featuring Robbie Le Blanc on vocals have released a new lyric video for the track ‘Nowhere To Hide’ ahead of the second album from the project Dark Angel. Which is set for release in early December on Frontiers Records.

and here’s an audio video for ‘Let Love Rule’

UK newcomers Blood Red Saints who feature former In Faith vocalist Pete Godfrey have released a couple of video’s ahead of their debut album Speedway release in December. Here’s an audio video for ‘Kickin’ Up Dust’.

and here’s a lyric video for ‘Best of Me’. Enjoy!

Khymera have just released an official lyric video to accompany their song ‘A Night To Remember’. It’s taken from their soon to be released and much anticipated new album ‘The Grand Design’ on Frontiers Records. Enjoy it below.

and here’s an audio video for ‘Never Give Up On You’.

The remaining members of Legion have decided to continue on following the departure of vocalist Phil Vincent, but have decided to start the new chapter under a new band moniker. The album is already recorded and details about it and the singer will be released shortly.

Primal Fear are set to return with a new album Rule Breaker on Frontiers Records in January. It will feature the tracks ‘Angels Of Mercy’, ‘Bullets and Tears’, ‘In Metal We Trust’ and ‘The Devil In Me’.

Swedes MarysCreek will release their new album through Escape Music in January 2016. Infinity will include the tracks ‘Buried Deep Within’, ‘My Confession’, ‘Blinded By Darkness’ and ‘Forever Lost’.

Rising Swedish rockers Reach have released a ‘Coming Home’ tour video. The song is lifted from their debut album released earlier this year on Cargo / Sun Hill Records. Enjoy it here.

Multi-national melodic metallers Eden’s Curse have finished recording their fifth album, the band are very excited and have lots of plans which will be revealed in due course.

Welsh AORster’s Serpentine have announced a temporary hiatus following the departure of Keyboardist Gareth Noon. The band are taking some time to weigh up their options before moving forward. The band have dealt with a few line-up changes in their short lifetime so it’ll be interesting to see where the band go from here – I know many fans will be keen for them to continue once they find a suitable replacement for Noon.

Super group Resurrection Kings will release their debut album through Frontiers Records in January. Based around Giuffria and Dio guitarist Craig Goldy the band also features Sean McNabb, Vinny Appice and Chas West on vocals. The album is produced by Alessandro Del Vecchio and features the tracks ‘Livin’ Out Loud’, ‘Fallin’ For You’, ‘Path of Love’ and ‘Had Enough’.

Tyketto and Dan Reed Network are hitting the road for some co-headline shows next spring, but their Midlands show will be solo headline shows at The Robin in Bilston. The Network play on March 9th and Tyketto on March 12th. Both bands are set to play the HRH AOR festival in North Wales too.

Finland’s Kings Company Formerly No Man’s Land have signed with Frontiers Records with their debut album scheduled for release in the summer of 2016.

Frontiers Rock Festival III which takes place in Milan, Italy next April have announced the first four bands on the bill. Treat and Trixter are set to headline with Shiraz Lane and the UK’s Inglorious also taking lower positions on the bill.

Supremacy the new band featuring former Bonfire vocalist Claus Lessmann have changed the name of the band to Phantom 5. The name change is to save confusion with other bands using the Supremacy moniker.

Northern Ireland’s No Hot Ashes who reformed a few years back have been on the comeback trail release an EP of re-recorded songs from the bands early days as well as playing the HRH AOR festival and touring with FM earlier this year. They have now signed with Frontiers Records for their first album in Thirty-Three years next spring.

Well that’s all the juicy bits of news from the past month; I’ll be back in a month’s time with even more news and gossip from the world of AOR and melodic rock.