Melodic Times July - Woody's Melodic Rock and AOR News Round Up

posted 12 Jul 2016, 07:06 by Paul Woodward

Stuff by Woody

The legendary Kansas are set to release their first album in 16 years The Prelude Implicit on September 23rd. It includes the following songs ‘With This Heart’, ‘The Unsung Heroes’, ‘Refugee’ and ‘Summer’.

Prog Metallers DGM have release their first music video from their new album The Passage. You can enjoy ‘Animal’ below, the album is out on Frontiers Records on the 26th of August.

Seven Hard Years (7HY) featuring former Shy man Alan Kelly will release their second album Stories We Tell through Lion’s Pride Music in August – further details coming soon!

Frontiers have announced another Festival set to take place in October – Frontiers Metal Fest. It will be held at The Live Club in Milan on October 30th and the one-day festival’s line-up is – Primal Fear, Labyrinth, Vanden Plas, Secret Sphere, DGM, Lords of Black and DGM.

Inglorious have announced they will be the main support for Steel Panther on their upcoming European tour – there is no UK dates on this tour.

The legendary cult rockers Q5 have released another official audio music video for the track ‘We Came To Rock’, which you can check out below. The album New World Order was released on July 8th through Frontiers Records.

and here’s another for ‘A Prisoner of Mind’

King Company have released the first music video from their forthcoming album on Frontiers Records. The album One More The Road will be released on August 26th and you can check out the ‘Wheels Of No Return’ video below.

Jorn has released another music video from his recently released covers album Heavy Rock Radio on Frontiers Records. You can check out the master gurner’s take on John Farnham’s ‘You’re The Voice’, here.

Crazy Lixx have released an official audio video from their new live album Sound Of The Live Minority which is out now on Frontiers Records. Check out ‘Rock and a Hard Place’ below for a taster of the album.

and another for ‘Hell Raising Women’

Swedish newcomers Cruzh have released their first official video from their self-titled debut album which is out on August 26th through Frontiers Records. Check out ‘First Cruzh’ below.

Ahead of his debut album’s release Michael Palace has released his first music video for the track ‘Master Of The Universe’, which you can rock out to below. The album of the same name will be released via Frontiers Records on August 26th.

Trick or Treat have released another video ahead of their album Rabbit’s Hill part 2 release on July 8th through Frontiers Records. Check out ‘Never Say Goodbye’ here.

Eden’s Curse have announced Leaves Eyes frontwoman Liv Kristine will guest on their upcoming album which it has now been revealed will be entitled Cardinal. The Fifth album from the multi-national melodic metal crew will be released through AFM records on October 16th. Tracks set for inclusion include ‘Sell Your Soul’, ‘Find My Way’, ‘This Is Our Moment’ and ‘Rome’s On Fire’. You can check out their first video for the track ‘Sell Your Soul’ right here, enjoy!

Steve Grimmet’s Grim Reaper have signed to Dissonance records for the release of their new album Walking in The Shadows on September 23rd. This is the first new album from the band since 1987’s Rock You To Hell.

Lords Of Black have released another official audio video from their album II which is out now on Frontiers Records. Check out their cover version of Rainbow’s ‘Lady Of The Lake’ below.

Aussie legend Rick Springfield has released a brand spanking new video for the track ‘Down’ which you can watch below. It’s taken from Springfield’s latest album Rocket Science which is available to buy right now, enjoy the video.

Young New York rockers Tempt have released their debut album Runaway through Rock Candy Records. It’s a fantastic Melodic Hard Rock album and I highly recommend getting your hands on it. Tracks on the album include ‘Under My Skin’, ‘Fucked Up Beautiful’, ‘The Fight’ and ‘What Is Love’.

Tesla will release a new live album Mechanical Resonance Live! On August 26th through Frontiers Records.

Russian’s Early Grey will release their debut album Secrets Of the Heart through Lion’s Pride Music. Definitely worth looking out for if you enjoy traditional sounding melodic rock.

Meatloaf has teamed up with Jim Steinman again for his new album Braver Than We Are which is released on September 16th. Tracks set for inclusion are ‘Going All The Way’, ‘Loving You Is A Dirty Job’, ‘Only When I Feel’ and ‘Train Of Love’.

Escape Music have announced the return of Change Of Heart! The English melodic rockers have been AWOL since 2005, and whilst the return does see some line-up changes principal songwriter and vocalist Alan Clark will be spearheading the new album. Last Tiger will be released on July 22nd and will feature the following tracks amongst others ‘Rise To The Challenge’, ‘Hold onto Love’, ‘Touch Your Soul’ and ‘Only Tomorrow’.

Aussie rockers Airbourne release a new single on July 8th ‘Breakin Out Of Hell’. It’s also the name of the bands next album which will get released in the Autumn, I’m sure this will be accompanied by live dates from the usually tour heavy band!

Aerosmith are set to do a farewell tour in 2017, following a statement from frontman Steven Tyler.

Australian’s Kaato have just released their self-titled debut album which was produced by genre hero Mitch Malloy. The album also features Malloy heavily as a co-writer and tracks to be included are ‘Only A Day Away’, ‘You Lose’, ‘Like A Blade’ and ‘I Don’t Love You’. The first single/video is for the track ‘High Time’. They have also been announced as Malloy’s support band for his upcoming UK live dates in September including a show at The Robin in Bilston.

Bonfire have parted ways with vocalist David Reece and have announced Michael Bormann is their new singer. Bormann has previously sung with the band and will I think be a good fit when it comes to the bands older material.

Swede’s Miss Behaviour have announced their new album Ghost Play will be released in September. This their fourth album will be released via AOR Heaven on September the 2nd. Tracks set for inclusion are ‘Friendly Fire’, ‘Pain and Passion’ and ‘Savage Heart’.

Guitarist Dario Mollo who many will know from The Cage with Tony Martin and Voodoo Hill with Glenn Hughes has resurrected his 80’s band Crossbones. Joining Mollo on vocals is Carl Sentence who was recommended by Classic Rock Keyboard Legend Don Airey. The band have already been signed by Frontiers Records with an album slated for release towards the end of the year.

Awesome British melodic rockers Dante Fox will release their latest album Breathless through AOR Heaven on August 26th. The album will include the following tracks ‘All Eyes On You’ and ‘Young Hearts’ – this album sees the band returning to a sound akin to their debut album and it’s follow up The Fire Within.

The latest addition to the ever expanding Melodic Rock Records roster is Jaded Past – Their album Believe will be released via the label on August 19th. Track’s set for inclusion are ‘Tattered’, ‘Whiskey Dreams’, ‘Be My Lady’ and ‘Hurt’.

Well that’s all the juicy bits of news from the past month; I’ll be back in a month’s time with even more news and gossip from the world of AOR and melodic rock.