Melodic Times January - Melodic Rock and AOR news round-up

posted 13 Jan 2018, 15:26 by Paul Woodward   [ updated 13 Jan 2018, 15:29 ]

Stuff by Woody

Boulevard - 'Life Is Beautiful' music video

Frontiers Records will release the self-titled album from Sweden’s ReVertigo on February 23rd. The band features Mats Leven on vocals and Anders Wikstrom (Treat) on guitar. It will include the tracks ‘Symphony Of Fallen Angels’, ‘False Flag’, ‘Joan Of Arc’ and ‘Break Away’.

Frontiers have already announced Gotthard’s Leo Leoni’s new band Core Leoni, well now we have a release date and album title – February 23rd and The Greatest Hits part 1. This album as previously stated is re-recorded versions of Gotthard songs and feature the vocal talent of current Rainbow man Ronnie Romero. Tracks set for inclusion are ‘Anytime, Anywhere’, ‘All I Care For’, ‘Firedance’ and ‘Let It Be’.

Unruly Child will release a live CD / DVD package entitled Unhinged – Live From Milan on February 23rd via Frontiers Records. Tracks amongst the setlist include ‘Who Cries Now’, ‘Lay Down Your Arms’, ‘When Love Is Gone’ and ‘To Be Your Everything’.

A new band to keep an eye out for are Dukes of the Orient which features John Payne and Erik Norlander. Release date is 23rd of February vis Frontiers Records the track list has been announced and features ‘Brothers In Arms’, ‘Strange Days, ‘Time waits For No One’ and ‘Give Another Reason’. This album has apparently been 10 years in the making.

The Frontiers Rock Festival have announced the line-up for the fifth addition of this Milan based Fest. Here’s the line-up April 28th -  Stryper, Quiet Riot, Michael Thompson band, Praying Mantis, Ammunition, Bigfoot, Hell in The Club – April 29th – Jorn, Jack Russell’s Great White, FM, Pretty Boy Floyd, Issa, Animal Drive and Perfect Plan.

The Dead Daisies will be hitting the Robin 2 in Bilston on the 9th of April, sure to be a busy a night for this supergroup! Get your tickets sharpish!

The Great Masquerade - 'Say You're Mine' music video

Westcoast / AOR artist Michael Kratz will release his Live Your Life album on March 3rd via Art of Melody / Burning Minds music. It will include the tracks ‘This Town Is Lost Without You’, ‘Never Take Us Alive’, ‘Game Of Love (Over and Over)’ and ‘Dying Young’.

Marco Mendoza will release his new album Viva La Rock on March 3rd through Mighty Music. The title track will be released as a single and video on January 19th, so keep your eyes peeled for that!

Coreleoni - 'Walk On Water' music video

Blood Red Saints - 'Live and Die' music video

Blood Red Saints - 'Wake Up' lyric video

Sleaze rockers Stray Bullets will release their debut album Shut Up on January 28th via Sneakout Records / Burning Minds Music. It will include the tracks ‘Get On You’, ‘Hurts’, ‘One Way Emotion’ and ‘Rain. It was recorded at Atomic Stuff studios in Italy.

PAL - 'Double Nature' lyric video

Code Red - 'I Won't Be Your Hero' music video

Signal Red the collaboration between respected English musicians Lee Small and Steve Grocott will release their album via Escape Music. The album which has been long in the making since 2013 but was slowed down by Grocott’s work with TEN will be called Under The Radar and unleashed on February 23rd. It will include the tracks ‘Defiant’, ‘Stronger’, ‘Tell It To The Bees’ and ‘Emotions in Motion’.

Frontiers Records have signed a physical distribution deal for the UK and Eire with The Orchard UK. I’m hoping this will mean some reduction in prices on Frontiers Releases which are a good £5 + more expensive than an average release, so we can keep our fingers crossed we can purchase even more releases in the new year!

Cult hair metallers Bulletboys return with their new album From Out Of The Skies. It will be released on Frontiers Records this coming March 23rd and will feature the tracks ‘Losing End Again’, ‘Sucker Punch’, ‘Switchblade Butterfly’ and ‘Once Upon A Time’.

Bulletboys - 'D-Evil' music video

ReVertigo - 'The Cause' lyric video

W.E.T - 'Watch The Fire' music video

Well respected musician and producer Michael Voss (Mad Max / Casanova) is releasing a solo album of cover songs from his youth entitled Remember Yesterday. Set to feature amongst the track list is – ‘Rock Me Baby’ by David Cassidy, ‘God Only Knows’ by The Beach Boys, ‘I’m Not In Love’ by 10CC and ‘When You Walk In The Room’ by Paul Nicholas. Look out for it on January 21st and is strictly limited edition to just 300 copies.

Whitesnake - 'Burn' music video

Iconic Eye - 'Am I The One' music video

Voices of Extreme have signed to Z Records with the first single from them ‘Call My Name’ been released as the first digital single, the album is set to follow this coming April. The band have toured the USA extensively supporting genre legends Tesla and feature Bobby Marks on Drums (Arabia), the American power trio are causing waves in their homeland and are hoping to do the same in Europe this year.

Voices of Extreme - 'Call My Name' music video

Aerodyne - 'We All Live A Lie' lyric video