Melodic Times February – Woody’s Melodic Rock and AOR news round-up

posted 12 Feb 2017, 05:52 by Paul Woodward

Stuff by Woody

Unruly Child have released an official audio video for the track ‘She Can’t Go Home’ which you can enjoy below. Their new album Can’t Go Home will be released through Frontiers Records on February 24th.

and here’s another audio video for the track ‘Point Of View’

House of Lords will release their brand new album Saint of the Lost Souls through Frontiers Records on March 24th. Tracks set for inclusion are ‘Hit The Wall’, ‘The Sun Will Never Set Again’, ‘Reign Of Fire’ and ‘Art of Letting Go’. They have released their first official audio video for the track ‘Oceans Divide’ which you can check out here.

One of my favourite ‘new’ bands (AKA no eighties connections) Eclipse will release their new album Momentum on March 24th via Frontiers Records. Tracks set for inclusion are ‘Never Look Back’, ‘Hurt’, ‘Born To Lead’ and ‘No Way Back’. You can check out their first official audio video for the track ‘Vertigo’ right here.

and here’s a cool music video for their track ‘Never Look Back’

I’m already excessively excited about the new Night Ranger album Don’t Let Up which is getting released on March 24th through Frontiers Records. The album includes the following tracks ‘Running Out Of Time’, ‘Won’t Be Your Fool’, ‘Comfort Me’ and ‘Jamie’. You can check out their first audio video for ‘Somehow Someway’ below, enjoy!

Here’s another official audio video for the track ‘Don’t Let Up’…

Melodic Rock Records have announced they will release a career retrospective album from cult melodic rockers Shotgun Symphony. The album entitled The Last Symphony will be a monster 4 CD package, It will include their self titled album, On The Line Of Fire and Sea Of Desire. The fourth album will be made up of rarities, B-sides, demo’s ect… you know the drill! More details will be released shortly!

Melodic Rock Records have also announced they will be re-issuing cult melodic rocker Johnny Lima’s self-titled debut album and 2003 album Made In California as a double album complete with bonus tracks. This set will be restricted to 500 copies so don’t hang around on this one if you want it! More details soon.

The Murder of My Sweet have released another official audio video for the track ‘Loud as a Whisper’. This is from their recently released album Echoes of the Aftermath on Frontiers Records. Check it out!

Jim Peterik’s Pride of Lions have released their first proper music video from their new album Fearless which is out now on Frontiers Records. Check out ‘All I See Is You’ below, enjoy!

A new all-star band have formed that could be of great interest to melodic rockers called Brigade. It features Howard Lesse (Heart) Robin McAuley (MSG, Survivor) James Kottak (Kingdom Come) and Jason Boyleston (Paul Rodgers / Starship). The band play their first live show at a Ronnie Montrose tribute concert as part of the NAMM convention in America. Keep your eye’s peeled for further info!

HRH Sleaze has expanded past been part of HRH AOR – There will now be a two day sleaze festival at the 02 Academy in Sheffield on the 2nd and 3rd of September. The line-up so far includes Faster Pussycat, Vain, Jizzy Pearls Love/Hate, Tyla’s Dog’s D’Amour, Tigertailz, Crazy Lixx, Sister, Bulletrain, Stop Stop, Wildside Riot, Kaato, New Generation Superstars, Daxx and Roxane, Devilfire, New Device, 44 Calibre and Superhooch.

Hot on the heels of new super group Brigade comes Roadcase Royale which features Nancy Wilson (Heart) and Liv Warfield (Prince). Original music has already been recorded and plans for live shows in the first half 2017 already on the cards. Heart fans need not worry though, Nancy states this band is a side project.

Swedish guitarist Sammy Berell will release his new album Passion Dreams on March 17th through Dark Force / Sound Pollution. It’s for fans of early Yngwie Malmsteen and John Norum solo albums. It features Goran Edman and Michael Vescera on vocals and Daniel Flores on Drums and Keyboards. One to look out for!

Tokyo Motor Fist the new supergroup featuring Trixter’s Steve Brown and Danger Danger’s Ted Poley have released another official audio for the track ‘Put Me To Shame’. You can check it out below and it’s from their soon to be released debut album on Frontiers Records, enjoy!

Michael Kiske’s Place Vendome have release a lyric video for the track ‘Hereafter’ check it our below. It’s from the album Close To The Sun which will be released on the 24th of February through Frontiers Records.

Asia’s John Whetton sadly recently passed out at only 67, after losing his battle with cancer.

And the Skid Row merry go round keeps on turning as they have just announced ZP Theart as their new frontman.

Brummie rockers Devilfire have set up a crowd funding campaign to help with recent costs incurred with an enforced name change! So you can of course pre-order your album alongside a whole host of other extra goodies! Check it out at

Devilfire - Kickstarter campaign

Following hot on the heels of One Desire’s killer video for ‘Hurt’ is an official audio video for the track ‘Whenever I’m Dreaming’ which you can check out below.

Art Nation will release their new album Liberation on April 28th via Sony Music/Gain.

Inglorious who have gone from strength to Strength since the release of their debut album! Their second album is already recorded and set for release in May on Frontiers Records! It includes the tracks ‘I Don’t Need Your Loving’, ‘Tell Me Why’, ‘No Good For You’ and ‘I Got A Feeling’.

Swiss hard rockers Black Diamonds will release their second album Once Upon A Time through AOR Heaven on March 24th. It features the tracks ‘Pieces Of A Broken Dream’, ‘The Ghost and The Shadow’ and ‘Vampires Of The Night’.

Dirty White Boyz are a new group assembled around vocalist Tony Mitchell and also featuring Nigel Bailey, Paul Hume, Neil Ogden and Jamie Crees. Their debut album Down and Dirty will be unleashed via Escape Music on the 24th of March. Tracks included are ‘All She Wrote’, ‘Hangin On A Heartache’, ‘Hell To Pay’ and ‘After The Rain’.

Hard Rock Hell have announced another batch of acts for the November bash, these new additions include Dee Snider, Tyketto, Lynch Mob, Reef and Femme Fatale! It takes place in Pwllheli, North Wales on 9th November through to the 12th. Looks a tasty line-up all round to me and very tempting!

Rock Candy Records have re-issued the first two classic King Kobra albums Thrill of A Lifetime and Ready To Strike. If you don’t already own these albums they are essential purchase for genre fans!

Powerquest have signed to Inner Wound Records with a new album scheduled for release in October. They will play a headline show at The Slade Rooms in Wolverhampton on the 27th of October.

Crazy Lixx will release their latest album Ruff Justice in April via Frontiers Records. It includes the tracks ‘Wild Child’, ‘Shot With A Needle Of Love’, ‘Hunter Of The Heart’ and ‘If It’s Love’.

Rockingham Festival have announced all 18 bands that will be performing at this year’s Festival between 20th and 23rd of October at Nottingham Trent University. Running orders and day splits have not been announced, but here you go some real surprises amongst them to – Vince Neil, Loverboy, Kix, Great White, Harem Scarem, Honeymoon Suite, Dave Bickler, Brother Firetribe, Dare, Fortune, Blanc Faces, Vega, The Amorettes, Airrace, Moritz, Maverick, Bailey and Cruzh.

Viana is a new melodic rock project worth keeping an eye out for, the self-titled album will be released on March 24th via Street Symphonies Records. This project is from Italian guitarist Stefano Viana who is backed by some big-name session players in the Italian scene, most notably Alessandro Del Vecchio who also co-produces the album. Tracks set for inclusion are ‘Bad Signs’, ‘Feel Your Love Tonight’, ‘A New Love’ and ‘That Place Is You’.