Melodic Times February – Melodic Rock and AOR news round-up

posted 18 Feb 2018, 10:53 by Paul Woodward

Stuff By Woody

Axel Rudi Pell will release his latest album Knights Call on March 23rd via SPV/Steamhammer Records. It will again feature Hardline frontman Johnny Gioeli on vocals and include the tracks ‘The Wild and The Young’, ‘Wildest Dreams’, ‘Slaves on the Run’ and ‘Follow The Sun’.

Escape Music will release the second unreleased album from LA’s Salty Dog, the album got shelved during the grunge years and has never been released – until now. Entitled Lost Treasure it will be released on March 23rd and feature the tracks ‘Damned If I Do’, ‘I Need More’, ‘Woman Scorned’ and ‘When Fools Rush In’.

Age of Discovery the brand-new album from Impera will be released on February 23rd on AOR Heaven Records.

The debut Dukes of the Orient album will be released on February 23rd via Frontiers Records. This is definitely one for prog fans to check out as it’s a collaboration between John Payne (Asia) and Erik Norlander (Lana Lane / Last In Line). It features the songs ‘Brother In Arms’, ‘Time Waits For No One’, ‘A Sorrow’s Crown’ and ‘Give Another Reason’.

Cult American Hair Metallers Spread Eagle have announced this week they have a signed a deal with Frontiers Record. The album is a long way off as its scheduled for a 2019 release but this advance news I’m sure will be welcomed by fans of the genre’s heyday and the debut Eagle album, who can forget the classic ‘Hot Sex’! In seriousness ‘Switchblade Serenade’ is considered by many one of the genre’s best songs and is a cult hit!

German melodic rockers Bonfire will release their new album Temple of Lies on the 13th of April.

The next release from new Italian label Art Of melody is Michael Kratz. His album Live Your Life is slated for a March 3rd release. On his latest West Coast / AOR album Kratz has worked with some notable industry musicians and most notably for us AOR fans – Steve Lukather of Toto. Tracks included are ‘This Town Is Lost Without You’, ‘Lying’, ‘Game Of Love (Over and Over)’ and ‘Dying Young’.

Supergroup The Dead Daisies will release their new album Burn It Down on April 6th via SPV/ Spitfire Records. The band hit the road in the UK at the same time to promote this album including a show at The Robin in Bilston on April 9th. Songs set for inclusion are the album are ‘Can’t Take It With You’, ‘Set Me Free’, ‘Rise Up’ and ‘What Goes Around’.

Uriah Heep Keyboardist Phil Lanzon has announced his new solo album If You Think I’m Crazy will be released on February 23rd. Songs included are ‘I Knew I Was Dreaming’, ‘Mind Over Matter’, ‘Lover’s Highway’ and ‘Donna and Joe’.

Doomsday Outlaw - 'Spirit That Made Me' audio video

UK rockers Doomsday Outlaw will release their album Hard Times via Frontiers Records in May.

Hard Rock Hell XII have announced a mammoth batch of new band additions to this coming Novembers Festival. The biggest amongst the announcement are Michael Schenker Fest. Amongst the rest of the additions are The Wild!, Demon, Rock Goddess, The Bad Flowers and Walkway amongst others.

Northern Ireland’s cult AOR-ster’s No Hot Ashes will release their long-awaited comeback album on March 23rd via Frontiers Records. It will include the songs ‘Satisfied’, ‘’I’m Back’, ‘Over Again’ and ‘Running Red Lights’.

No Hot Ashes - 'Come Alive' audio video

American rockers Voices of Extreme have announced a Six date UK tour for this coming September – 3 dates are TBC with another three announced for Liverpool, London and Newcastle.

Radio Rockageddon launches on February 12th and will stream 24/7 AOR, Melodic Rock and Classic Rock via their website.

FM - 'Make The Best Of What You Got' audio Video

Classic German melodic rockers Bonfire release Temple of Lies on April 13th through AFM records. It features the following songs amongst its track listing, ‘On The Wings of an Angel’, ‘Stand or Fall’, ‘I’ll Never Be Loved By You’ and ‘Crazy Over You’.

Frontiers Records is continuing to grow and have now opened a UK office in London which will be headed by Wally Van Middendorp.

Frontiers Records have put together a new supergroup Dream Child. The band features Craig Goldy (Dio / Giuffria) Wayne Findlay (MSG) Simon Wright (AC/DC / Dio / Operation Mindcrime) Rudy Sarzo (Quiet Riot /Whitesnake / Ozzy / Dio) Diego Valdez (Helker). More details when I get them…

The Cyberium will release their self-titled debut album on February 21st on Melodic Rock Records. This Progressive Rock project features former 7th Heaven vocalist Keith Semple on vocals. It’ll feature the tracks ‘Cool Kids’, ‘The Fall’, ‘Alice in Afterland’ and ‘Nostalgia’.

Finnish heavy rockers Leverage have returned after a long hiatus with a new vocalist and a brand new single. Their new vocalist is Urban Tale’s Kimmo Blom.

Leverage - 'Red Moon Over Sonora' music video

JK Northrup’s The Mood Groove is set to display a different side to the musician. As the band name may suggest you can expect something a little different and funky and should appeal to fans of Living Colour and Mother’s Finest. It will include the tracks ‘Funk Soul Sister’, ‘We Are The Mushroom Men’, ‘Leaning To Far In’ and ‘Disintegrating Gods’. It will be released via Escape Music on April 20th.

Jari Tiura will release his debut solo album King Of Lions through AOR Heaven on the 23rd of March. The former Michael Schenker Group vocalist will be going in a more AOR direction with his solo album and will include the tracks ‘London’, ‘Friends and Foes’ and ‘Away From All The Magic and Wonder’.

April the 20th sees the release of God Damn Evil the latest album from Christian rockers Stryper via Frontiers Records. It includes the tracks ‘Take

Jizzy Pearl will release his new album All You Need Is Soul via Frontiers Records on May 11th. It includes the tracks ‘You’re Gonna Miss Me When I’m Gone’, ‘House Of Sin’, ‘When The Devil Comes’ and ‘High For An Eye’. Jizzy is also on the road on the UK on an extensive tour in May including a show at The Slade Rooms, Wolverhampton on May 5th.

Melodic Rock Records will release the first offering from the collaboration between JK Northrup and David Cagle entitled That’s Gonna Leave A Mark on March 30th.

Street Symphonies Records / Burning Minds Group have signed Swedish Glam band Lipz. Their album Scaryman is expected to be released in May via the Italian label.

Z Records have announced the signing of Sante Fe based melodic rockers Fireblast. Their debut album is due for release in June and will be preceded by a single ‘Frozen Tears’ and it’s accompanying video. More Info as it’s revealed.